Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Concrete furniture construction help needed

TX

05-18-17, 01:22 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Concrete furniture construction help needed

Hey, Im looking to make a hollow concrete cube. or 5 sided box...
Like this Name:  cube.JPG
Views: 102
Size:  28.9 KB

I have some experience with concrete but im outa my league...maybe.
So I built a pressure treated wooden box very solid. and wrapped it in stucco wire mesh and treated it with Sika bonding agent... Name:  IMG_20170517_141401.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  43.9 KB
Name:  IMG_20170517_141651.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  39.1 KB
Then i made a brown coat:
4 parts cement
6 parts sand
1 part admix
1 part water
1 part lime

Trowled it on and kept it wet for a day or so... So now i want to finish coat it and im looking for some help...

I made 4 of them with base layers of varying texture. The plan was to mix a white cement mix and trowel it on and smooth it out or sand it down smooth. I was going to use the bonding agent in between coats and just go for it... I just dont want to waste my time or have it start cracking later... so far its really solid and seems strong... any thoughts?
Name:  IMG_20170517_201935.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  35.9 KB
Sanded
Name:  IMG_20170509_200826.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  31.4 KB

Sponsored Links

MI

05-18-17, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)  
My only concern is if the wood gets wet from being outside it might swell and crack the coating.

TX

05-18-17, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)  
Its pressure treated... but yeah im worried about that too... I thought of using a foam core but like the stability of the wood... How do houses not swell? Obviously they do... Maybe i should use tar paper like the stucco guys do? so the wood can move under the concrete?

Thanks for the comment

Forum Topic Moderator

TN

05-19-17, 04:43 AM   #4 (permalink)