Constructing a butcher block work table

Old 06-29-15, 09:04 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Constructing a butcher block work table

I’m constructing an outdoor work table. I have two, 6’ X 24” pieces of butcher block. I want to join them together creating a 6’ X 48” table top. I planning to wood glue them together, then join them together by screwing four cross pieces on the underside, anchoring them every 8” or so, with wood screws. My only problem is I have no large bar clamps to use and would rather not purchase them. I’m a retired TV writer from the Bronx and a complete klutz who has a garage filled with tools I adore but know little about using! Still I LOVE my projects and never do mind the ridicule they inevitably bring. This table may sag, be wobbly, and list to one side but it will bring me endless joy! So what wonderful old school tricks will get me around the lack of clamps? I will greatly appreciate any and all suggestions.

Old 06-30-15, 03:12 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I moved your post to a more appropriate forum so it would garner more advice. As much as I hate to say it, you could invest in two 1/2" pipe clamp sets ($12 ea) and a 10' piece of 1/2" black iron pipe ($12) cut in half. If you have a shop, you will find them invaluable later on as well. I have a section of wall space about 8' wide with nothing but pipe clamps.

Another way to keep it from sagging is to place a third set of legs in the middle to give vertical support.

Old 06-30-15, 04:39 AM
Group Moderator
Received 877 Upvotes on 740 Posts
I would agree with Chandler, pipe clamps are the best option. You have to pay to play!

I, however, would recommend 3/4" pipe ones like these: 3/4" Pipe Clamp with Base Look around and you will find a bunch of 20% off coupons in you local paper/magazines good on one item, you might also get a free tape measure/meter/flashlight/screwdriver!