Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

handheld microphone connection


H3re2Learn's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 108
OH

05-04-17, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)  
handheld microphone connection

Installed a PA system at our business and it came with a basic XLR microphone but what we would like to use is a handheld push to talk microphone instead of sliding the on/off switch on the basic one. Like what you would get to connect to your walkie talkie, It obviously doesnt need the speaker in it but just the push button microphone is what we want. Now on to what im asking... the only push button microphones I could find with XLR were $100s and we dont want to spend that. so we bought a basic walkie talkie push button speaker thing with the coiled cord and spliced it to solder onto an XLR connector and its not working out so well. the one we bought has 3 rings but 4 wires. red/green/black/white we used white and black for the microphone and when it didnt work we tried the others. it finally did work with green and black but it was using the speaker as a microphone lol thus the push button useless. so any idea as to why we couldnt get it to work or does anyone know of another cheap option where when we buy it it comes ready? looking for $20 or less. I know cheap but money doesnt grow on trees. thanks

 
Sponsored Links
XSleeper's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,131
NE

05-04-17, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)  
Why don't you get a CB microphone?

 
H3re2Learn's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 108
OH

05-04-17, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)  
just looked and most say 3 or 4 pin powered microphone, something tells me that wont work because I think my PA amp just receives the signal and doesnt power the mic.

 
XSleeper's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,131
NE

 
H3re2Learn's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 108
OH

05-04-17, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)  
AHH i thought by powered it meant by the CB not a battery, any idea which of those 4 wires I would need for an XLR connection?

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 37,523
NJ

05-05-17, 11:28 AM   #6 (permalink)  
You want a stock CB mic.... not a powered one. They're widely available.
If you tell me which one you get I'll tell you how to wire it.

Most CB mics would connect......
White to XLR pin 2.
Shield to pin pin 1 with jumper to pin 3.


~ Pete ~

 
H3re2Learn's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 108
OH

05-05-17, 01:00 PM   #7 (permalink)  
so the powered one cant or shouldnt be used? lol

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 37,523
NJ

05-05-17, 01:10 PM   #8 (permalink)  
It could be used but may be too loud and may crackle when the button is pressed.


~ Pete ~

 
H3re2Learn's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 108
OH

05-05-17, 01:26 PM   #9 (permalink)  
well this is the one I got
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I went off what the other guy said to get the powered one. It was also a good price and seemed pretty solid. If there is a crackle I guess ill have to chalk up the loss. thanks

do you think it will work without the battery?

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 37,523
NJ

05-05-17, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)  
No... it needs a 9v battery to produce audio.

Those Cobra mics use different mic cords. The audio line may not be white.
The wire that the shield is wrapped around is the audio line.

The wire that was on pin 1 on the four pin plug would have been the shield.
The wire that was on pin 2 on the four pin plug is the audio.


~ Pete ~

 
Search this Thread