Deck railing help

Old 03-22-13, 08:14 AM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Deck railing help

I added a floating ground level deck on top of a concrete slab (see pics). I now need to add railing next to the concrete retaining wall. Ideally, I would like to adding railing and a bench on top of the wall. I need to take the wall out of play so my little guys cannot climb on the ledge and accidentally fall off. My question is do you think I could put posts on top on the wall and support them with a concrete block post (see pic) or with steel supports (see pic)? Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks. KW

Attached Images      
Old 03-22-13, 10:07 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Did you nail or screw the deck boards down? Ideally provisions for the handrail posts would have been made before the decking went down. I'm just a painter, the carpenters will be along later with better advice for you.

Old 03-22-13, 10:31 AM
K
Mark- Thanks for your response. Deck boards are screwed down with 2.5" deck screws. I do have a railing plan in place that has railing at coming up at the end of the deck and not over onto the wall. I am considering other options to build over the wall. In the end, I will probably will do 4x4 posts to ground on other side of wall, but I posted here to see consider other options I mentioned previously.

Old 03-22-13, 10:42 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
I don't like that big break in the top of the wall for putting the railing on it, I would probably look to attach the railing to the deck instead.

For what it's worth, I would not have built a ground level deck in the first place so keep in mind you and I may not be thinking on the same page.

Old 03-22-13, 11:52 AM
A
Received 73 Upvotes on 66 Posts