advice for reinforcing 2x4 joist for porch swing

Old 05-13-17, 06:46 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
advice for reinforcing 2x4 joist for porch swing

Hello All,

Willing novice here looking for some suggestions. I'm working on installing a 5' porch swing - safely I removed a few pieces of the vinyl siding porch ceiling and unfortunately discovered that the joists are 2x4 lengths (was hoping of course for 2 x 8). Joists are 8' long perpendicular to the house and are at 22" centers. There are also horizontal 2x4s at 24" centers that run perpendicular to the bottom side of the joists over the entire length of the porch. Ends of each joist are nailed into horizontal 2x8s beams at either side of the porch (house side and garden side). Rafters are then attached using screws and metal plating to the joist ends.

My plan is to attach the porch swing to a single joist (that is, the swing's 5' length is parallel to the joists). Since joist is not 2x8, I know I need to reinforce it. My thinking is to sister existing 2x4 joist on both sides with additional 2x4 8'lengths using glue and screws (or carriage bolts?). I may be able to sister 2x6s instead of 2x4s, but there is limited vertical space at the one end of the joist because of the roof angle, so it will be a tight squeeze. If I use the 2x6s, do I use them as the attachment points for the swing?

Hope this doesn't sound too naive - any advice from the experts here much appreciated!

Old 05-13-17, 06:58 AM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
Sistering with 2x6s is reasonable. If you need to taper the top edge at one side to fit under the roof, that will not seriously impact the strength. Construction adhesive and construction type screws (not drywall screws, but GRK or SPAX type) will be fine. I favor a lot of screws over a few carriage bolts. Use screws long enough to penetrate all three layers and screw from both sides.

Old 05-13-17, 07:43 AM
T