Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wiring a new light/fan combo switch with 3 black and 3 white wires

Old 04-09-15, 12:05 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

I'm relatively new to this, and having trouble installing a new DewStop humidity sensor switch--which has connections for hot (black), fan (red) and neutral (white) wires--in place of the old switch--which worked, but used two hot black wires, one of which was linked from the other switch's hot black wire. (I identified the wires I'm calling "hot" with a non-contact tester).

I've tried to diagram the switch box and my old and new configurations below, naming and labeling all six wires. I tried every combination of white/neutral wires connecting to the DewStop's red and white wires, but the new switch did not work under any of the six configurations. The old switch (Switch 1) didn't even work under two of them*.

I also tried keeping the hot black wire linked from Switch 1, and then connecting the other hot black wire to the fan (red) wire, but then the light/fan combo powered by Switch 2 remained permanently on or off, depending on the red/white configuration--and I only tried a few configurations there, because I started to worry about having two hot wires. The new switch did not turn the light/fan combo on or off under any configuration.

Can anyone help me debug this tangle of wires? Which should connect to red, which to black, and which to white?

Name:  Old config.jpg
Views: 5163
Size:  23.4 KBName:  New config.jpg
Views: 2512
Size:  24.5 KB

*Combinations where neither switch worked: First, when the wire marked White 1 was connected to DewStop's white and White 2 & 3 were connected to DewStop's red; second, when White 3 was connected to DewStop's white and White 1 & 2 were connected to DewStop's red

Old 04-09-15, 12:56 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts