Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Do I have to drill through joists to run a cable a few feet for a light?


Brian1900's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 557
ME

06-18-17, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Do I have to drill through joists to run a cable a few feet for a light?

I'm wondering if I can just run the cable and install another pull chain light near my work area without drilling through the joists. Can I just run the romex under the joists and staple it up for now. I want to pigtail off another junction box pull chain light that's about 5 feet away.

What about if I hook everything up and then call an electrician to do the rest?

 
Sponsored Links
ShortyLong's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 798

06-18-17, 08:54 PM   #2 (permalink)  
AFAIK, you don't have to drill. Staple the Romex under the joists.

 
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,790
MD

06-19-17, 06:55 AM   #3 (permalink)  
Cables for smaller circuits like lighting, cannot be run under the framing without a running board or being drilled.


All answers based on National Codes. Please check with your local building departments for local amendments.

 
Wirepuller38's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,075
TN

06-19-17, 07:06 AM   #4 (permalink)  
Drilling

Drill the joists midway between the top and bottom edges and as close to the end of the joist as practical.

 
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,706
NH

06-19-17, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)  
You can nail a piece of strapping under the joist and staple the Romex to that.
Geo

 
Search this Thread