ceiling fan does not spin counterclockwise

Old 05-27-02, 10:34 PM
arika
Visiting Guest
ceiling fan does not spin counterclockwise

My ceiling fan has a reverse blade button that you could use to change the rotation path of the blades; it would spin clockwise and counter-clockwise. Now, it will only turn clockwise; the reverse button does not work. Can I repair this or is it a lost cause? I have two fans like this. The fans came with the house so I do not have access to a manual.

Old 05-28-02, 10:17 AM
Group Moderator
Received 250 Upvotes on 202 Posts
That's a pretty easy fix as I recall. Couple of screws and two or three wires. Turn off power and remove the light fixture or cover that will access the switch and have a look. May only be a case of wire-nutting in a new switch.

Old 05-29-02, 12:50 PM
arika
Visiting Guest
ceiling fan

Dear The Tow Guy,

What is wire nutting? And could you be a little more specific about your instructions on disassembling the wires? I am very new to this type of repair. Thank you for your reply.

Old 05-29-02, 07:39 PM
Group Moderator
Sure.

Step #1, make sure the POWER IS OFF.