When to apply Milky Spore?

Old 07-06-17, 11:11 AM
S
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
When to apply Milky Spore?

Hi all,

Apologies if this is the wrong forum. I didnt see anything dedicated to pest control.

I am in my 2nd year at my new (old) house. Lawn is looking great, and I am attempting to treat it organically.

I know from my last house that grubs can wreak havoc on a well maintained yard, so I do want to try to keep any grubs in check, so I picked up the powder form of St Gabriel Milky Spore. The directions say to apply 'when grubs are actively feeding'... While I don't see evidence of this (yet) I do see Japanese beetles.

Is now the time to put the spore down?

Thanks in advance!
-K

Old 07-06-17, 11:26 AM
Super Moderator
Received 391 Upvotes on 319 Posts
There's a whole section on pest and animal control. Don't know how you missed it!
Anyways, I moved your post for you.

Old 07-06-17, 01:12 PM
S
strange! CTRL-F didnt work for me today! Thanks

Old 07-06-17, 03:09 PM
V
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I don't know if there's a "bad time" to apply Milky Spore . . . . but patience is the key. Read the package and study the life cycle of the Japanese Beetles/Grub Larvae to your own benefit.

I've written this before, so I hope I'm consistent. I used Milky Spore 35 years ago when I had a tiny little ¼ Acre Lot and less patience than I do today. Back then, Milky Spore was effective in wiping out my grubs within 2 years.

Actually, the grubs aren't the problem, it's the Racoons, Skunks, Gophers, Possums, and other critters who dig up the Grubs that cause the lawn to become such a mess. For them Grubs must be like Lobster. You'll feel just awful removing the Gourmet Grubs from their menu !

So now I'm trying to maintain a lawn of almost 4 acres, and for the first 15 years of my ownership, I had no Japanese Beetles, nor any Grub problems.