Adjusting chainsaw carb...

Old 10-22-03, 02:06 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Adjusting chainsaw carb...

I bought a used Poulan chainsaw off of a neighbor. He thought it needed rebuilt, couldn't get it to start. Paid all of $25 for it. Figured I couldn't go wrong, even if it did need rebuilt. He's had terrific luck with it, but wanted a newer, lighter one.

Well, upon some investigation, I see that the fuel pickup/weight has detached from the fuel line, hook back up, whala it runs.

Only problem is he messed around with all three adjustment screws on the carb and it's all over the place.

I'm pretty new at fiddling with motors, so could you advise me the best way to go about adjusting it? Assume it starts fine and runs, but idles fast and sputters at full throttle. The screws are marked "I", then "L" & "H" (idle/low/high I presume). I've gotten carbs adjusted before, but never knew if I was going about things correctly.

Edumicate me!

Old 10-22-03, 02:24 PM
Hi there!

In order for us to help you adjust that carb properly, we need your modle number of your trimmer, if you can not find that then at least give us the modle of your engine on the trimmer. Usually the engine modle number is directly on the engine block somewhere. I am sure you will find it. The reason we need this information is because every engine has a different kind of carb. We need to know which screw is your idle mixture and air screws. When we recieve the modle number, Cheese and I will help you.

Old 10-23-03, 12:58 AM