Does the direction you paint shutters in matter?

Old 08-19-14, 02:01 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Does the direction you paint shutters in matter?

Ok this is probably a stupid question but I have never painted shutters nor used a paint sprayer.

My 10 year old burgundy shutters have faded and developed a whitish haze. I know I need to scrub them down, wipe them with alcohol, and prime before I paint but I have no clue if I should spray the paint on from side to side or top to bottom or if it even makes a difference. Does it make a difference?

Also is their a difference between acrylic and latex exterior paint? I was going to use latex but figured I would ask that here too.

Thank you in advance for any help. As I said I have never done this before.

Old 08-19-14, 04:06 AM
Received 721 Upvotes on 640 Posts
IMHO, use a brush. Your shutters are viewed from a distance and you won't be looking at brush strokes. Plus brushing will not waste paint like spraying will. Use a latex, make life easy for yourself.

Old 08-19-14, 04:26 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
What are the shutters made of? wood or plastic?
I'd only consider spraying them if you take them off and have a good place to spray them - where the overspray won't affect anything.

btw - welcome to the forums!

Old 08-19-14, 11:59 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks a lot for the advice guys.