Knockdown texture drywall

Old 08-18-12, 07:22 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Knockdown texture drywall

I have zero experience with this and need some help if possible. I had to have a contractor cut this area of drywall cut off so they can epoxy the poured concrete behind it. Now I need to put it back up.

Is this easy enough so I can try to put it back up myself or with some help? The previous owner of our home built the rec room. A contractor quoted me $225 to repair it with 4-6 hours of labor. I just think that's wav too much for a small area like this. I managed to get this piece of drywall up.

Attached Images        
Old 08-18-12, 09:50 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm sure that you can put the dry wall back in place but you might have trouble with the spackle & tape. That could be why the price seems high to you. He might have to make a couple of trips there to do the job.

Old 08-18-12, 02:56 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
After securing the panel in place, tape and mud the joint really well, sanding between coats. Your last swipe will be of thinned out joint compound and a 12" knife. It will be a light coat. Once it is all done, one way to do the knock down on repair jobs without renting or buying a sprayer is to cover all adjacent areas and get a wallpaper brush. Dip it in slightly thinned j/c and throw it on the wall in a splatter fashion. Not too thick. After you have coated the entire area, and let it dry for about 30 minutes, take your 12" knife and holding it at a really sharp angle to the wall, lightly scrape off the tips of the compound you spattered on the wall wiping the knife with every stroke.
You may want to try it on a scrap piece of drywall to see if it is worth your time to do it or bring in the big guns for $225. This is a DIY forum and we promote doing things yourself, obviously. But there comes a time...................

Old 08-18-12, 03:41 PM
M