Paint and Plaster Repair Questions

Old 04-11-17, 03:09 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Paint and Plaster Repair Questions

Hey guys I'm a novice getting into home improvement, have quite a few upcoming renovation tasks at my new place so looking for more advice and info for this task

So there was a bit of water damage done to some corner parts in my room and kitchen, which was caused by a pipe from the tenant above me. Seems to have dried now

The paint in these areas cracked open and also a coat of some kind behind the cracked paint lumped up resembling like little mushroom clouds(Is this an indication of what kind of paint I should use after I patch/plaster the damage?)

Anyway when I shaved this off it fell off easily and it revealed the old plaster which seems to be either cement or mortar, can't tell exactly, but it's brownish, grainy but also rocky, and it's hard I guess but just a bit flaky(place was built in the 60's). I scraped off some of the outer parts that were soft and chipping away. I think it's ready to be patched/plastered and painted, but I'm not sure if the new patch's weight can tug at the old plaster and fall off at all? Or maybe splashing the bonding agent in option B below may even strengthen the old plaster?

So far based on what researched I can either (A) apply cement or mortar mix to damage, then primer & paint, or (B) splash or brush some kind of bonding agent on the damage, then apply cement or mortar mix for even stronger hold, then primer & paint, or (C) apply bonding agent to damage, then apply joint compound, then primer & paint

seems like these options will get the job done but they seem to have different strength and longevity, anyway I would appreciate any advice

Last edited by earthb0nd; 04-11-17 at 05:20 AM.
Old 04-11-17, 03:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums!