Front door lock stuck in locked position - how to fix?

Old 10-16-13, 07:49 AM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Front door lock stuck in locked position - how to fix?

First let me say I am a complete novice @ home repair. Our front door has two locks - one deadbolt, and one with a handle. Yesterday the lock with the handle (picture below) would not unlock. I took the handle off and tried to pry the lock open, but no luck. I have no idea what to do next - do I need to buy a completely new lock? Thanks for any help anyone can offer -

Attached Images  
Old 10-16-13, 07:41 PM
R
Received 45 Upvotes on 42 Posts
It would appear from your photo that the latch cam has broken or become displaced from the 2-3/4" backset position....remove the other side knob,
(if you can't get to the other side, simply push it out from the photo side).

Fortunately, you have a considerable gap between the door & frame, where you can wedge a medium size screwdriver to pry the latch back. If it doesn't pry back easy, look into the door hole at the mechanism while prying; you might be able to see what is causing the problem & using another screwdriver, be able to assist the process. If still no go, the apparent gap shown in the photo should be sufficient such that by removing the hinge pins, you will have the clearance necessary to remove the door. It helps to have 2 people if you go that route.

Old 10-16-13, 08:01 PM
R
Incidentally, prying the latch back is easier if you can get something BEHIND the latch and pull OUT, acting on the latches' natural bevel. Most anything will do;
heavy twine, a bent coat hanger, stiff wire etc.

Old 10-16-13, 08:16 PM
R