New to hardwood floors... few ?s

Old 05-03-17, 08:27 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New to hardwood floors... few ?s

Hi everyone and sorry if I seem like a total newb but I am so please excuse any stupid questions but I'm the paranoid type especially with this kind of stuff. Long story short I installed a B.E.A....UTIFUL Earthwerks Acacia engineered hardwood floor but I am getting several conflicting things about how to finish up the cleanup. I live in west Tx have a pier and beam house and this is my first ever hardwood floor. The installation went well and the floor is amazing but during the install we did get some "smudges" on some boards from our fingers after working with the bostick urethane adhesive that was recommended to me. We were instructed to use mineral spirits OR an adhesive remover... well I just happened to have some Min Spirits sitting in the garage so we dampened a white rag ( did not soak just damp with the MS) and cleaned as we went but apparently missed some spots. My questions are these...

1. How dangerous is it to attempt to remove these last few smudges using the MS gently and will it ruin the floors? leave a film? anything else?

2. How durable are these floors and their finishes in general? Like I said ive been told its a great floor and I can use the MS without much risk as long as we are gentle and not rubbing our way to china... and that we needed to clean the floor after the MS usage.