Help with exposing brick wall..

Old 09-15-17, 08:41 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Help with exposing brick wall..

hi I am very new to this and new to this site. I live in a two-story home that is over 100 years old. We have a wall in our kitchen that is Plaster covered by some paneling but behind all of this is original brick. You can see that moisture has come into the wall where it has bubbled and there has been no more moisture damage in over the last 4 years after my father-in-law covered some vents on the exterior of the home. We have decided to move into this place a couple years ago and slowly fix some of the issues. I would like to tear down this wall because of the original brick I would love to expose it. Any advice that could be given would be greatly appreciated. I know this is a messy job and I have been reading a lot of the do-it-yourself post but I would like to hear some professional advice on how I should begin this process. Thank you in advance

Old 09-15-17, 10:39 AM
T
Received 48 Upvotes on 41 Posts
it bothers me that a moisture situation was improved by covering vents.
If the plaster is gypsum plaster which I think it is. It should come off easily. I use q flat blade on my air chisel and cut the air down so it Dow not hit too hard and too quickly. A wide mason chisel and a not too heavy hammer will do the job just more slowly. Start n a place that is easy to fix the plaster for you might find the brick are not as hard or as lovely as you hope.

Old 09-15-17, 10:51 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
Removing the paneling and plaster is pretty straight forward. After removing the paneling a rotary hammer set to hammer only mode with a flat chisel bit can make the work go much faster. If you are going to be doing much I would tent off the area with sheet plastic or at least block the doors to the room to contain the dust to that one room.

Old 09-15-17, 11:11 AM
Group Moderator