Brinks to Honeywell Vista 20P - General Alarm DIY Questions

Old 02-16-17, 02:42 PM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Brinks to Honeywell Vista 20P - General Alarm DIY Questions

Hi Everyone,

First off, I'm new to this, but have read as much as I can before asking these questions... I'm just trying to piece all this information together.

Background
Replacing an old Brinks/ADP alarm with 4 designated zones (1 front door, 1 back door, 1 garage, 1 motion sensor) with a Honeywell Vista 20p (10.23 firmware). Using a 6162RF panel.

Questions/Issues
1. How do I know if Brinks had resistors in place? Based on my testing with a Multi-Meter, I see 0 ohms when my front door is open and ~1.10k when it's closed. Same for by back door. They are recessed Honeywell contact sensors (see Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet).
- How do I know how many ohms these sensors should output, can't find any info online?

2. Every time I connect my front door to zone 2 (or any zone), whether I put in the 2k resistor provided at the panel or not, I get a "Fault 02."
- It feels like the Vista 20p is expecting more than the 1k ohms being put out by my door contact?
- When I put all the 2k resistors in place on the Vista 20P with no sensors connected, the panel looks good and ready (see Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet).
- With a 2k resistor attached at the negative wire of the door sensor at the panel, the ohms is .64k when closed, I think (I have to double check today)
- If I add the 2k resistor at the End of the Line (near the contact point of the door), I'm assuming the .64k (or whatever it is) reading would be the same?

3. Physically, it's hard to see the whole run of the sensor wire, so I can't visually see if there are any resistors at any point in the lines. Pulling out the door contact doesn't show any.
- If my zones are each independent, do EOL resistors "in series" apply?
- Or are EOL resistors needed at all?