Random Device Disconnect Sound - Could it be electrical?

Old 06-14-17, 02:05 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Random Device Disconnect Sound - Could it be electrical?

I'm an electrical novice, so please bear with me. Here's my sad story:

I was using a self-built machine. Suddenly random USB device disconnect sounds started occurring (sometimes 3x in a row, other times not for several hours) - I disabled all system sounds and it still continued, even though I didn't notice any USB hardware blips). Two months ago, I bought the new Intel NUC7i7BNH, installed Windows 10, and within a few hours the issue suddenly started all over again.

I have replaced or swapped out all my hardware, disabled all Windows power-saving settings, turned off ALL Windows system sounds, tested the same configuration on ***3*** different computers (1 running Win 10, the others Win 7), been on several computer help forums, pretty much eliminated every computer-related fix Google (and several computer advisers) could suggest including testing all USBs - and the same "disconnect" sound (or whatever it is) continues. It's definitely coming through the speakers b/c I can lower the volume. I get no hardware hiccops. Usually, the sound is the 2 tone Downward disconnect sound, but sometimes it just seems like 1 tone. The randomness is what is really frustrating. For instance it was silent all yesterday morning, then 3 times in a half-hour, then nothing until this morning - just once - and then suddenly nearly a dozen times in 10 minutes. There is just no pattern - no particular change in electrical usage.

I'm thinking it must be some sort of electrical issue b/c I've connect the computer(s) in another part of the house... and never hear the noise. Unfortunately, the way my office is set up, everything is on the same circuit.