Gas Furnace and Electric Water Heater in Closet

Old 10-11-17, 03:48 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas Furnace and Electric Water Heater in Closet

Hi, guys. I'm looking in to renting a place. I am no expert on HVAC stuff, so I was wondering if someone could tell me roughly if this setup is considered safe, because I haven't seen it before. Basically, it's a closet door which I have seen before, but there is a grilled part at the bottom and a filter on the inside of it. Inside, at the bottom is an electric water heater and at the top is a gas furnace. I'm just wondering if this is a safe setup and also what the filter on the door does? Doesn't the filter go inside the furnace usually? Here are some pictures:

Attached Images     
Old 10-11-17, 04:06 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The gas unit needs air to function. That's the reason for the vent & the filter. As far as safety goes, I would want a smoke alarm & a high water alarm outside the closet. Aside from that, what's closer to the exit, the closet or your bedroom? In other words, do you have to pass the closet to get to the door? The location is more important that the fact that both units are in the same closet.

Old 10-11-17, 04:22 PM
M
Hi. All bedrooms are closer to an exit. Yes, I was more concerned with things like having too much CO2 or gas leaks and having another device in there. But, I have numerous smoke alarms and carbon monoxide alarms. I had a place exactly like this except the furnace was electric and the water heater was outside and electric.

So, the bottom part is the filter for air going in to the closet from the outside of the closet? Should there be some other type of filter in the furnace area itself (like an AC filter)?

Also, if I choose not to use the gas heat, would the ventilation and stuff still work ok?

Thanks for helping.

Old 10-11-17, 04:52 PM
D
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation