Window A/C unit only blows out one vent!

Old 11-19-01, 02:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Angry wtf?????????????????

Ok, I took one of my cars(87 shelby charger) to a shop with a broken cv axle.Two weeks later I got a call from the shop, they said they put the axle in, took it for a test drive, and that the tranny just "broke".Well I was pissed for a long time and called the better business beureau on him, that didnt help any....oh well.So I was thinking about scrapping the car.My question is do you think it would be worth the time and money to put a new tranny in one of these things?Is it a difficult removal/install?I am a student at ranken tech in Saint Louis so I have access to specialized tools and advice,.....I'm just questioning myself if its gonna be worth it.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-25-04, 08:59 AM
Vin-Jes
Visiting Guest
Window A/C unit only blows out one vent!

We live in North Florida where it's very hot this time of year. It's been in the high 90's during the day for weeks. We have a window A/C unit that is only about two years old. The filter is cleaned pretty often and we've had no problems with it. During the week we have the timer set to come on in the afternoons when we get home. So it runs at 66 degrees from 4:30 p.m. till 6:45 a.m. the next morning. On weekends our A/C runs on about 66 degrees all day, all night. I noticed this morning that our cottage didn't seem as cool as it normally does. Putting my hand in front of the vents I noticed it's blowing out the left vent but not the right vent. It was happening both when the A/C compressor is running and when we have the fan on.

When we shut it off, we heard a cracking like sound from inside. Sounded to us like something was frozen so we just left it off to defrost. I think this has happened before when we first got it, but I can't remember. Anyway before we turned it off and unplugged it we went outside and looked into the vents at the top of the unit and we saw the fan running so we thought it was ok.