Heat pump not cooling or heating

Old 03-15-05, 08:07 PM
oanglade
Visiting Guest
Heat pump not cooling or heating

Hi, I have a heat pump in my house in GA that is not cooling when set to cool or heating when set to heat. I'll post the brand/model in a little while (I'm at work right now).

Inside fan works, coils/fins are clean, filter is clean.

Air blows out of register just like always.

Outside unit: Fan turns on and I can hear what I believe is the "humming" of the current draw of the compressor. I could be wrong and it could be drawing current, but not starting, I guess. The breakers inside the house and next to the outside unit are not tripping.

Thermostat works.

Now, if I push the high pressure switch (red "reset" button near the outside lines, the outside fan will stop. If I let go, it starts again.

I have no experience with AC units or heat pumps, but I am an electrical engineer, very mechanically inclined and experienced do-it-yourselfer. If you explain it, I will understand it and be able to do it (given the parts and tools).

Any advice on what to check/test and how would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Last edited by oanglade; 03-24-05 at 07:28 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 03-15-05, 08:16 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
has the Unit itself all the sudden stop cooling/heating, or has it slowly went down the hill?

If it's all the sudden, make sure the compressor itself is running. if it's running, then chances are you may of lost your charge.. Do any of the copper line feel cool/hot?

Old 03-15-05, 09:14 PM
oanglade
Visiting Guest
It's hard to tell if it happened all of a sudden, since the heat strips will kick in to heat if gets too cold, but I would guess that yeah, it was sudden. Normally, I can tell when the red reset button needs to be pressed because it will feel cold, even though the actual temp is the same as the set temp (when heating).