window air conditioning questom

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-03-05, 05:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin U.S.A.
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
window air conditioning questom

I don"t know much about window units, do they need a seperate outlet, or
can they be pluged into one that otherthings use, this is for a bedroom, the other bedroom has an outlet just for the electric heater.
wallyp
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-03-05, 06:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 372
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What size a\c is it?
Will you have to run an extension cord to reach the outlet?, if so make sure it meets the standards for the unit, if you have to run an extension more than 6-8 feet I would add an outlet to be safe.
I have a 7000 BTU unit in my wood shop, It's running off of a 20 amp breaker with an extension that is capable of running a device that draws 20 amps and is 6 feet long.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-05, 05:48 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Like HT says it will all depend on what's on the circuit currently. You will find out not long after you turn it on if it will be ok or not because it will trip the breaker if there's to much on it.

It's always best to have a dedicated circuit for a window shaker but if it's just a small one for a bedroom then you'll probably be fine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: