chattering contacter

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-07-05, 12:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking chattering contactor

Hello,
I have a 4 ton Goodman system which i installed last year. From the begining it has had a very hard start, but it has done a pretty good job of cooling.Last year near the end of the cooling season it burned out the contactor, which i replaced, but it seemed the new contactor chattered at times. At the start of the season i had Sears come out for a checkup and the technition told me i was not gettin 24 volts to the contacter, and i should replace the control boards in the air handler. I did that, but i'm still getting the chatter from time to time.
Any idears for me?
Longj
 

Last edited by longj; 07-14-05 at 10:11 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-07-05, 02:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may have a faulty printed circuit board that serves as a delayed start for the compressor.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-05, 02:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Done that

Thanks for idea, but i've already replaced the primary and secoundary panels as suggested by the man i mentioned above. While it doesn't chatter as much, it does chatter.
longj
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-05, 03:31 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Contactor chatter

Thin low voltage wire can cause a voltage drop. All low voltage wires should be at least 18 gauge. Is this A/C only or is the indoor coil on a furnace? If on a furnace, the transformer might be too light. If A/C only & you are supplied by 208 volts instead of 230, check the wiring on the transformer. Almost all come set up for 230 volt supply.
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-05, 03:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
chattering contactor

Thanks for your ideas.
Mu low voltage wire is 18 gauge and it's under 50 ft. I'm receiving 230V ti and out of the contactor. And it is a ain only system. Since i've replaced the controle panels, i'm wondering about the thermostat.
What is the difference between a Single Stage Cooling and Two Stage Cooling. A comment in Goodman's manual says t "power robbing" thermostat will not work in some situations.
Any thoughts?
longj
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-05, 03:19 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Power Robbing

A power robbing or power stealing thermostat is one in which the clock, etc. in the thermostat is powered by the system rather than by batteries. A single stage cooling thermostat only has one "Y" terminal & a two stage has "Y-1" & "Y-2". The "Y-2" would be to bring on a second compressor or change to high speed on a two speed compressor.
 
  #7  
Old 07-14-05, 09:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking success

Just wanted to say thanks. Your input was helpful. I had been having the problem from the installation. I did most of the work myself and hired a contractor to make the finale connections. Apparently the air handler is used in differently applications, such as Heat Pump.It seems the Pro missed the note on the wiring diagram that says, for single stage cooling the Y1 terminal should not be used. The Y Y2 terminal should be instead.
After i made the change, BINGO, i got 24 volts going to the contactor.
Ring one up for DIY.
Thanks again
longj
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: