TRANE TCONT802 thermostat - glitching pos

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-05, 06:51 PM
dazzle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy TRANE TCONT802 thermostat - glitching pos

Hello,

my thermostat, I believe its TCONT802AS32DA model, is starting to cool the house when temperature is a lot lower than desired.
Like I can set it to 76F, but it eventually starts working, and on the end of the day I can found it at 73F. This happens on regular basis and I forced to completely turn this thing off when going to bed, because either way its going to freeze the house all night long.
The accuracy of thermostat is also leaves a lot to be desired - it shows 73F when its more like 71F.
Installers was in my house six or seven times, but unable to fix the problem.

Thermostat is brand new, and was installed with new TRANE XL16i system, which is also having alot of problems, like can not to keep down temperature on hot days, which I hope installers finally fixed.
My old system XB10 with old analog thermostat was a way cooler and trouble-free, sadly it goes down on me after just six years.

I can't say that I satisfied with quality of TRANE products. Not at all.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-02-05, 04:28 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
You can't blame it on Trane products. I'm not a Trane rep either. They have a very good product and I believe this is going to boil down to your installer. It's possible that you have a bad t-stat and that will happen with any brand. The best you can do is call and speak to the owner of the company and request that he "or she" send out their best tech to finally get it operating properly.
 
  #3  
Old 08-02-05, 06:42 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Where is this stat placed at? Hallway? doorway? windows??

Grasp all 4 corners and pull it right out at you, and you'll see a hole where the wires comes out.. Is ther there a good sized hole for air to blow though there?

Do you know how to go into advance set up on the t-stat itself?


on a hot day, what set point do you set it at? Do you set and leave it alone or do you use the program to turn up in the day, and back down in the afternoon?

When you had the outdoor unit replaced, what else was replaced?
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-05, 07:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
dazzle,

Thermostat is brand new, and was installed with new TRANE XL16i system, which is also having alot of problems, like can not to keep down temperature on hot days, which I hope installers finally fixed.

I assume you have either a var speed furnace with new evap coil or new var speed air handler. The Trane XL16i is a 2 step compressor that requires var speed to operate correctly. A Manual J heat/cool load calcuation was performed to size your new system correctly?

Jay makes a good point that the correct placement of your thermostat affects its operation-preferred is in a hallway between returns and away from any heat source,windows,etc.
 
  #5  
Old 08-02-05, 01:31 PM
dazzle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Big thanks for replies guys.

Yeah, it could be not a Train problem, but lack of experienced installers. It looks like its the first time these guys install two-stage system. After six visit I still can't feel second stage working. (If I would have know that before, I would never ever bought two-stage system).

My t-stat is placed on hallway, just below this big sucking duct, I don't know proper name for it. Its a shadowed place and there is no direct sun in any time of the day.
I am not sure about the hole behind t-stat, I a bit afraid of pulling it out. As far as I remember its not very big, just to have wires through.

I know how to check installer setup numbers (SYSTEM + 2 blank keys for 5 sec), and I already look through all of them. Nothing suspicious here. System Type Selection set to 12 (3 heat/2 cool heat pump with auxiliary heat). Temperatury Display Offset is zero.

I never use the program, its just plain two numbers, one number is desired temperature and other is current temperature. On the hot day I try to set it very low, like 70F with hope that second-stage turns on, but it still 78F-80F in the house on hot days.

When they replaced outdoor unit they also replaced coil. I do not know what type of coil exactly, I am not specialist on this things. But it was somehow connected with the fact that XL16i has two stage.
The thing is - they forgot to replace furnace and air blower was not compatible with two stage. After couple weeks of my complains they figured that out and replace furnace also. Does it help? Nope. But I do not have much trust on these guys now.
I do not know is they performed Manual J heat/cool load calcuation. My old system was 4 ton. And new system is also 4 ton. And one of installers say something about 5 tons now, because all of this wonderful stuff they placed on my basement. Duh.

I thinking now about call to Richmond to official Trane dealer and try to request real professional who have real experience in two-stage systems. I can pay him whatever needed for visit.
What do you think guys, is that the right move?
As I said I don't have a inch of trust in these first installers, and they already send their "best technician" to me with no result.
 
  #6  
Old 08-02-05, 01:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,067
dazzle

It sounds like you purchased your system through a non-authorized dealer of Trane products which I believe is at the root of your problems. My suggestion would be to get a true authorized Trane dealer out to your home and attempt to sort out the mess. As mentioned, the XL16i is a 2 step compressor that requires a variable speed furnace blower to operate correctly-preferably a Trane XV furnace. I believe the XL16i also takes R-410a refrigerant only so you should have the matching evap coil as well. The XL16i is a good system if sized and installed correctly with the corresponding furnace, evap coil,air cleaner cabinet, and thermostat.

Good Luck!
 
  #7  
Old 08-02-05, 02:39 PM
dazzle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
TigerDunes

No, of course they are authorized installers, I do not want to give anti-ads, so just say that I found them using http://www.trane.com/Residential/Dea...erLocator.aspx and they are sixth in the list of dealers for my zip code.
They don't have "Trane Comfort Specialist™ icon", but I can not find any indication on the Train web that one should only use TCS labeled dealers because other dealers know nothing about what they do. Or is it right?

Anyway, I was talking about this contact:
http://www.trane.com/Richmond
I hope they can help me.

By the way, currently I have everything replaced: outdoor unit (XL16i), furnace (XV80), coil (I believe its Train also) and t-stat (TCONT802). I think they also do change refrigerant, though I can't be sure 100%.
Now its almost 6pm, not so hot outside, it was working all day long, t-stat set to 70F, and only be able to get 76F.
 
  #8  
Old 08-02-05, 08:41 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
First of all, make sure the t-stat is set up for 2-stage heating, and 2-stage cooling in the advance settings. (you still have the book?) I have the same thing, but it just a Honeywell VisionPro, so I don't know if the codes are the same or not? Does your have a humidity control set up on it?

Not sure how comfortable you are going about this, remove the blower cover and see where the wires are going to.. This is drawn out on the service info for the otudoor unit.. Don't go by what's inside the blower door for the XL16i

on the cooling Y1 from the t-stat MUST go to Y2 on the control board then back to Y1 on the outdoor unit.

Then Y2 from the stat MUST go to the BK on the control board and back to Y2 on the out door unit.

If you don't feel comfortable doing it, I'd ask to talk to a manager and get a best service tech.. some time the installers don't know what to do for set up.
 
  #9  
Old 08-12-05, 06:37 AM
Joachim
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Trane air conditioner problems

I also bought a Trane air conditioning system that has the identical problems as does dazzle on this threat. I bought it from Home Depot and one of their contractors installed it. The unit is incapable to bring my house to the desired temperature - it is a 5 ton XL - 2 stage unit. Even when turned on in the evening it will not bring the house down past 74 deg. (there is no sun) My house is 2700 sq ft. My old Carrier 4 ton unit had zero problems doing so, but eventually quit.
Looks like the fight is on, after reading dazzle's threat...it reads just like if it were my unit.
 

Last edited by Joachim; 08-12-05 at 06:39 AM. Reason: spelling
  #10  
Old 08-12-05, 07:00 AM
Joachim
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Trane

Dazzle, how did you make out with your Trane air conditioner? What did they find if anything?
 
  #11  
Old 08-12-05, 07:28 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Originally Posted by Joachim
I also bought a Trane air conditioning system that has the identical problems as does dazzle on this threat. I bought it from Home Depot and one of their contractors installed it. The unit is incapable to bring my house to the desired temperature - it is a 5 ton XL - 2 stage unit. Even when turned on in the evening it will not bring the house down past 74 deg. (there is no sun) My house is 2700 sq ft. My old Carrier 4 ton unit had zero problems doing so, but eventually quit.
Looks like the fight is on, after reading dazzle's threat...it reads just like if it were my unit.

Did they change the furnace as well?? Did they have someone come out and do a start up/set up on the control board?

Why up in tonnage from a 4 to a 5 ton?????? Did they do a load calc on your home??

When you say you start it up in the evening, Do you not run it all the time?

If possiable start a new thread.
 
  #12  
Old 08-13-05, 09:19 PM
Joachim
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Trame air conditioner

Jay, to answer your questions - yes I replaced the air cond, furnace,and therm.
Iterestingly enough they did not install a Trane therm in, but rather a Carrier - so while I was poking around the Trane literature says "if you have a 2 stage furnace' connet the W2 wire to the W2 wire from therm to furnace. Well guess what, there is no wire.

So I called Trane Service Department told them unit nerver worked right from day one. They were super nice and told me someone would contact me.

Assured me that they would get it working right - as far as calculations - you are obviously a professional and know what you are doing. The Home Depot contractor was not - heating works OK.
 
  #13  
Old 08-13-05, 10:05 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
I used to be in the field, but I have a Trane right in my home.. I work for Home Depot, and had it done though them.. I never said a word that I used to be in the field, and I wanted to see how well they did.. and they did a great job.. After the 2nd day that they were here, I mention that I used to be in the field.

everything was done and set up as I'd set it up.

Sorry to hear the dealer who did the install didn't do a good job, but I am glad to see that they are going to come out and check things over..

Make they have the dip switches set up right.
 
  #14  
Old 09-06-05, 12:27 AM
dazzle
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry, it was a long time.

After 10 or 11 visits, frankly I stop counting, these "installers" found some wiring problem in thermostat, so right now its operating fine and I cant catch it working when it shouldnt. So I believe this matter resolved. They was talking about some wires which still just hanging on the air from this t-stat, wires for external temperature or smthg like this. I really dont know is this can affect operation of system, particularly 2-stage operation. Can someone teach me how I can detect second stage kick-in? Because right now I cant feel the air blowing is cooler or anything.

Cooling performance is still not adequate and far from the level of my old cheap TRANE XB1000.
So its still 76F on not so hot weather when working all day long.

I was trying to contact TRANE and get some experienced technician to my home, but it looks like they have one field technician for whole state. His cell is always busy and he never return my calls. Yeah, what a service.

The thing is, after all these visits and talking and checking and testing, I really bored with this story. I dont have a time and will to fight these guys anymore. For me, it was mistake by selecting TRANE product, selecting 2-stage and selecting this local certified "installers". The most bitter part of this is that I did my choice after lots of research, and I was hoping to get advanced and reliable product. Well, we all do mistakes, right? I just give up. At least till the winter come. Jeez, I wonder how many visits will be needed to make this system heat the house.

Thanks everyone for your answers and take care.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes