What if there is not enough freon

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-05, 10:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What if there is not enough freon

The technician said there is a leak in the refrigerant sunction line accumolater and he replaced it. When he was putting back the freon, it seems like he don,t have enough freon with him. ( I was watching him switch from one tank to another ,and then back again, even turning the tank upside down. The tanks seemed to be empty or almost empty to my observation..When he was done, I ask if he was able to put enough freon in it, and he said "IT WILL BE OK." The system is working fine. The house gets cool. But if the tech only put say 90 per cent of the total freon the system would need, does this mean the system will work harder and longer to reach a set temperature setting thereby using more energy?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-05, 06:54 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,928
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Low charge

It will not operate as efficiently as it should & it could freeze up. I suggest you call the service company, tell them of your concerns, & ask to have someone come back & make sure the system is properly charged. If this has been recent (within the last week or so) I would certainly expect them to do so & at no charge except maybe for the additional refrigerant.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-05, 07:02 PM
DNT1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You were probably witnessing tech frustration, when a refrigerant tank gets below say 20% full and you are trying to add to a nearly full system the silly tank freezes up and pressures go below the amount needed to push the refrigerant in, he probably forgot his electric tank heater or it was broken. It is always best to use a tank heater on near empty tanks, it prevents TECH FRUSTRATION LOL you are probably OK on charge level he was probably changing tanks over to get one that had unthawed a bit and had more pressure. Sound like he was a bit unprepared to do your job, happens to the best of us sometimes. Did you receive a check list sheet with the superheat/subcooling/DeltaT/Amp draw data etc.?
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-05, 03:59 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree your probably ok. I've been there done that. If he had a 5 gal bucket he could have just got some warm water and charged away.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: