Carrier or Trane?

Old 10-17-05, 04:24 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier , Trane, American Standards?

Hey, newbie here, first post.

I live in CT and looking to install a central AC for my 1,800 sf colonial home.
I got a couple quotes:

1. Sears, (contractor) installing a Carrier 38TSA (14SEER) system and its air handler, this one running for about $8,200

2. Home Depot, (contractor) installing a Trane 14XLi 14SEER system, this one running for about $7,500

The duct work is already done, I had this finished 4 years ago by another company when the house was built. 10 vents in total, all duct going to attic, so air handler will be installed in the attic.

What do you guys think?

Last edited by geek; 10-21-05 at 08:02 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-05, 05:07 PM
GEEK

I am absolutely opposed to purchasing HVAC equipment from a big box store like Sears or HD. It unneccessarily interjects a 3rd party into a purchase agreement plus you will definitely pay more.

As far as equipment, Trane and Carrier are fine. I do recommend a var speed air handler. How do you heat your home?

My opinion.
Good LucK!

Old 10-17-05, 05:56 PM
Wink

Me too get 3 bids for any job like this. Look in the phone book and see what a Trane company shop there will do it for.

ED

Old 10-18-05, 05:54 AM
Originally Posted by TigerDunes
GEEK

I am absolutely opposed to purchasing HVAC equipment from a big box store like Sears or HD. It unneccessarily interjects a 3rd party into a purchase agreement plus you will definitely pay more.

As far as equipment, Trane and Carrier are fine. I do recommend a var speed air handler. How do you heat your home?

My opinion.
Good LucK!
I thought about it, but a couple notes: