Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Air Conditioning and Cooling Systems
Reload this Page >

A Humidistat wired in conjunction with the AC Thermostat or not? Future Trouble?

A Humidistat wired in conjunction with the AC Thermostat or not? Future Trouble?

Old 01-15-06, 05:23 PM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hello, I am new to this Air Conditioning Forum and looking for any advise that anyone can give me on the following issue.

We are in south Florida in a Manufactured Home Community. We occupy our "Homes of Merit" for six months a year from November to April.

For the times we are absent I have been told that I should have a Humidistat installed in conjunction with the existing Thermostat that controls the Heating & Air Conditioning.

However others say that doing this is not a wise thing to do. Those that do have this humidistat installed when absent for the six months of hot Florida summer set the Air Conditioning at 85 F & the Humidistat at 70 or less.
The theory being that this will control the humidity better than using the Air Conditioning alone.

I think the group that recommend using the Air Conditioning alone say this is a wiser choice because adding the humidistat adds a degree of complexity that could cause problems if one or the other fails. I am in a quandary whether or not to do this?

We have a Professional check the house on a regular interval & after major storms or hurricanes, tropical storms, etc.

Any advise on whether you think this humidistat wired in conjunction with the AC Thermostat is a wise idea or not would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks...Ernie

Last edited by Ernie Fearon; 01-15-06 at 05:49 PM.
Old 01-17-06, 02:49 PM
jhig1961
Visiting Guest