outside unit not operating at all.....

Old 04-19-06, 07:22 AM
outside unit not operating at all.....

I have a Goodman model #CPKE24-1AB. I just bought this house about 8 months ago and so I have no knowledge of this unit's history. The heat was fine all winter and when I turn the thermostat to a/c the fan will blow, but the unit outside does absolutely nothing. No clicking, no humming, nothing at all. I checked the capacitor and it appears to be fine. I couldn't find a starter relay on it. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated, I don't have the funds to be buying a new system and I don't believe my family will make it through the winter with no a/c. Thanks again.

Karl H. Becker IV

Sponsored Links
Old 04-19-06, 09:00 AM
DNT1
Visiting Guest
why aint this darn thing workin

tick do you have a voltmeter and have some basic electrical skills?? First lets check the electrical panel to be sure breakers are on and that the outside disconnect is also on, double check the setting on the thermostat to be sure it is calling for cooling. If all good there pull the thermostat cover and check for voltage between red and white wires (R C) red and yellow (R Y) post results for further instruction.

Old 04-19-06, 11:14 AM
I flipped all my breakers off then back on. The disconnect is plugged in. The thermostat is set accordingly, I checked the wires you mentioned with my multimeter, R and C were good, but R and Y got nothing when a/c was set to on. If I set a/c off though I got a reading on R and Y.

Last edited by BluetickHound; 04-19-06 at 11:41 AM.
Old 04-19-06, 12:31 PM
Wink

Try at the tstat jump R to Y the outside unit should come on. R to G blower should come on. When you call for AC does contactor close in outside unit??? All 24V wires ok at unit??

ED

Old 04-19-06, 12:58 PM
I tried jumping the r and y to no avail. nothing happens outside at all when a/c is set to on. the wires appear to be fine in the system outside.

Old 04-19-06, 04:00 PM
DNT1
Visiting Guest