honeywell 8000 thermostat double clicking

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-06, 09:58 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
honeywell 8000 thermostat double clicking

I keep my fan on, which is on the low speed in my Carrier air handler that has an upgraded fan control board. It has an option that allows for fan on low speed and when cooling is called for, the Y signal allows the fan control board to go to high speed. I notice that when the thermostat calls for cooling, I hear two clicks from the thermostat, with a brief split second pause between the clicks when the fan seems to change speed. Is the thermostat changing from the fan on signal to the y signal making the fan control board stop then start the blower motor? Is this normal for the Honeywell 8320 tstat? and is it bad for the "system?" I believe I have properly set up the tstat, but changed the cycle rate from the standard gasheat/single stage cool to I think "3". It still cycles too frequently in this mildly hot weather. Can I slow the cycles even more?? Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-06, 07:43 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't know Carrier system that well, but I have read up that you can control the blower speed for fan "ON".

The t-stat shouldn't have that "double click" sound, Mine just does it once. I'd call the dealer back and have them check out the t-stat.

As for cycle, 3 is for heating.. There is also cycle rate for cooling and that should be at 3 as well.

Maybe the system is too large?

How big is the home? how many ton is the system? and outdor temps/indoor too?
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-06, 02:59 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just installed a Honeywell T-stat model RTH7400

When the A/C kicks on I can hear a double click from the T-stat, and it double clicks when the A/C shuts off as well.

Did you ever find out if this is normal for yours? Or if anyone else can advise if this is normal?
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-06, 04:57 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is normal for clicking sound. it's has a small relay in it. I have the Visino Pro Model.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: