Costs for Aircond, Forced Hot Air, and duct work

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-07, 07:21 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Massachussett
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Costs for Aircond, Forced Hot Air, and duct work

What would be a fair price(parts and labor) by a contractor, in the northeast, to install new duct work, a new force hot air furnace by gas and air cond. for a 7 room ranch house with approx 1400 square feet in an exisiting home? What would be the typical percentage break down parts vs. labor? This excludes electrical work.
 

Last edited by bywater; 03-25-07 at 08:45 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-07, 05:32 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

When you cant see the job and know what all you can get into . There is no way to say what the cost will be for a heat and cool job
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-07, 05:55 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 157
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It will cost less in the mild fall months then in the heat of the summer.
Also for installing duct, It will depend if it is fiberglass duct or metal duct.
Whether they use flex with branch boxes- cheapest
Also how much room is in the attic for duct installers to install the duct
Where the Furnace location will be and where the condensing unit will be.

The best thing is just to call up A/C contractors and get several quotes.
Don't be forced to sign in hurry for any special offerings any offer will last 30 days if not with that company some other contractor will meet the original good quote.
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-07, 05:22 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To add. If your doing all that work make sure all bidding contractors do a Manual D "duct sizing calculation" and a Manual J "equipment sizing calculation" To properly size everything.
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-07, 08:10 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Massachussett
Posts: 36
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is existing duct work in the attic with plenty of room with the furnance located on the 1st floor in the middle of the house.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: