Thermostat Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-24-07, 05:55 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat Wiring

I have a Payne two stage heat and one stage cool heat pump brand new. I had an old analog thermostat that I wanted to replace. It is wired as such:

G - Green Wire
Y - Yellow Wire
W - White Wire
Rc - Red Wire
Rc - Rh - Jumper Red Wire between the two
Blue Wire not connected to anything

So I bought a Digital Hunter 44760 which is compatible with multistage heat pumps specifically two stage heat and one stage cool.

The options on the new thermostat are:

G, C, L, O, W2, B, E, R,Y1

I configured it this way.

G - Green Wire
C - Nothing
L - Nothing
O - Nothing
W2 - White Wire
B - Nothing
E - Nothing
R- Red Wire
Y1 - Yellow Wire
I left the blue wire disconnected.

My results are that the thermostat states "No AC Power".

Please advise!!

Thank you in advance.

DuBose
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-07, 06:15 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Heat pump thermostat wiring

You don't have enough wires for two stages of heat with a heat pump. If you can, take that thermostat back to where you bought it. Hunter has the absolute worst reputation of any thermostat manufacturer. Spend the extra money & get a Honeywell or White Rodgers. Unless you are familiar with heat pumps & their wiring, which can be fairly complex, I suggest you get a local professional to hook things up.
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-07, 08:30 PM
M
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SouthEast
Posts: 178
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will probably need to pull a new thermostat cable if you have less than seven wires available. Everything you need as far as which ones hook up to what terminal will be in the unit and thermostat installation instructions. Sometimes you will see the following, but keep in mind that different manufacturers do different things just to confuse the matter it seems lol.
R will use the red wire for 24 volts from transformer
G will use the green wire and be for the blower fan
Y will use the yellow wire and be for the compressor 1st stage heat/cool
O or B will use the orange wire and be for the reversing valve (O energize for cool B energize for heat according to how your unit was built)
W will use the white wire and be for backup Auxiliary heat
L will use the brown wire and be for the system monitor lights
C will use the blue and be for the common to power the thermostat
Note: wire colors really do not matter as long as they are connected correctly at each end. Dig out your installation manuals and do some research you should be able to DIY however if you hook it up wrong you could fry your transformer/thermostat or even the defrost board so be very careful.
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-07, 08:35 PM
B
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your original t-stat is not a heat pump type so the one you bought won't work. You need a single stage heat, single stage cool.
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-07, 03:21 AM
B
Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I mis-understood the thermostat as a new Payne brand heat pump thermostat instead of you having a new Payne heat pump system. I concur with the others on needing to run a new t-stat wire. Sorry for the confusion.
 
  #6  
Old 05-25-07, 03:48 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat Wiring

Here are my units: outside - Goodman GSC130301A A
inside - Payne PF1MNC031

Here is what I think has happened. The company installed this new unit but did not install new wiring. So I may have a more sophisticated system but my wiring is limiting me. Can you comment on this?

If I go get a single stage single cool thermostat, am I missing out on some of the efficiency features of my new unit?
 
  #7  
Old 05-25-07, 03:51 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat Wiring

Can I replace this thermostat without pulling new wire. If so what thermostat do I need. Here is the pdf on the outside unit.

http://www.alpinehomeair.com/related/GSC13-Series%20Installation%20and%20Operating%20Instructions.pdf
 
  #8  
Old 05-25-07, 09:01 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Goodman/Payne

That outdoor unit is NOT a heat pump. It is a single stage cooling only condensing unit. I could find nothing on the indoor (Payne) unit. Is it just an air handler with electric heat or is it a gas furnace?
 
  #9  
Old 05-27-07, 07:34 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is electric heat - no furnace. So now that I do not have a heat pump what thermostat do I need?

Thank you,

DuBose
 
  #10  
Old 05-27-07, 08:15 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
T-Stat

Before I can suggest a specific thermostat, I need to know what wires or terminals are available on the indoor unit. If there is a wiring diagram anywhere on the unit, a photo of it would be a HUGE help. You can post the photo on photobucket or similar site & provide a link here.
 
  #11  
Old 05-27-07, 04:01 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is wired as such:

G - Green Wire
Y - Yellow Wire
W - White Wire
Rc - Red Wire
Rc - Rh - Jumper Red Wire between the two
Blue Wire not connected to anything
 
  #12  
Old 05-27-07, 04:07 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Wiring

That does not do me any good. Those are thermostat terminals & wiring. I need to know the wire colors &/or terminal markings at the air handler (indoor blower section where the electric heat is).
 
  #13  
Old 05-28-07, 06:16 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok - took pictures. they are located here. I really appreciate this.

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k114/dubosegriffin/thermostat005.jpg

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k114/dubosegriffin/thermostat004.jpg

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k114/dubosegriffin/thermostat003.jpg

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k114/dubosegriffin/thermostat002.jpg

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k114/dubosegriffin/thermostat001.jpg
 
  #14  
Old 05-28-07, 07:01 AM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,247
Received 23 Votes on 21 Posts
Wiring

From what I can see, the two banks of electric heat come on via a single wire. Any thermostat capable of doing electric heat should work fine. You do not need or want one specific to a heat pump. If you get a digital, most have a setting for "gas" or "electric" heat. Make sure you set it for "electric". What this will do is to bring the fan on as soon as the electric heat comes on. In most cases the wiring will be as follows:

Red from unit to R (jumper Rc & Rh) on the stat
White to W
Green to G
Yellow to Y

The blue does not appear to be connected at the air handler.

BE SURE TO GET A THERMOSTAT WHICH IS BATTERY POWERED
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: