Compressor shuts off after 5 min

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-07, 09:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Compressor shuts off after 5 min

Please disregard my previous post of the compressor shutting off after 15. I timed it and it runs for 5 minutes then stops (hums quietly for a little bit then just the fan is running). Checked and rechecked the wiring when I replaced the fan, everything looks good. Fan works great (not sure if I have the fan blades on correctly though???? -have it on with the part with the nut to hold it to the axle on the bottom of the shaft, should that part be the other way around or doesn't it matter?)

After letting the outdoor unit off and sit for 15 min or so, the compressor will kick back on and again, shut off after 5 min.

I looked for fuses or reset buttons all over the thing but there are none.

Any ideas? Hopefully not a bad compressor? Compressor is in it's 8th season.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-07, 09:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is it compressor time?

Well I"m down to 2 things, the contactor and the compressor. The compressor will turn on but shuts down after 5 min. Fan works fine.

could this be a contactor issue or is it time to call service guy to replace the compressor?
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-07, 03:50 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's time to call out for service.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-07, 03:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yup I agree, will be calling them on Monday.

I do have a question though. If it is low on Freon or out of freon, would that cause the compressor to shut off?
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-07, 06:58 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Low on refrigerant

Yes it could cause the compressor to shut down, particularly if there is a low pressure switch in the system.
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-07, 01:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Freon

YUP it was low on Freon. Actually is was OUT of freon. They had put 1lb of freon in about 2 or 3 years ago. He said the valve where you fill up the freon had a leak, I'm watching out for other leaks. So for right now it works great with freon lol
 
  #7  
Old 06-05-07, 05:45 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Leak

I hope they added dye in addition to repairing the valve. If they did, & you have a problem down the road, the dye will allow them to locate the leak with an ultra violet light.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: