New AC

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-21-07, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New AC

We recently moved into a new house without central air. The house is 3030sq ft with appx 26 windows. There are 2 furnaces, one for each floor. We are considering getting central air installed and am wondering what your opinions are on an ideal setup. Since we have 2 furnaces would there be a need for 2 ac units or could we get one unit ( I am estimating 4-5 ton, no manual J done yet). If we only got the one unit I would assume the best furnace to put the coil into would be the one that supplys the upstairs so that the cool air falls to the first floor. if we needed 2 units would the size of the upstairs unit be bigger than the size of the 1st floor unit?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-21-07, 11:18 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

You cant say size till you run load on the home. You say 2 story and to heat units. For sure put 2 AC units in the home one for up and one for down. you might go to

http://warmair.net compre fuel cost for there and see if a heatpump might work.
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-07, 12:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so if i needed 4 tons of cooling would it be 2 ton unit up and 2ton unit down?
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-07, 12:44 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,756
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Have to do load cal to know!
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-07, 04:42 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also depends on the capacity of the airhandlers you already have in there. Hopefully they went ahead and sized the duct work with the anticipated install of a/c. If both airhandlers only have 2 ton blowers then that's the max you can go on cooling.
 
  #6  
Old 06-21-07, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how can i tell the capacity of the airhandlers...I called the hvac company that did the furnace install on the new construction, they said i would need a 2.5 ton for the first floor and a 3.5 ton for the second floor. if i went with a 2 stage bryant ac i guess those dont come in 1/2 ton sizes so would need a 3 ton and 4 ton respectively.
 
  #7  
Old 06-22-07, 04:48 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post the model and serial numbers of your units, we can tell you.
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-07, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
#1
Model 310AAV042090ACJA
S/N 1806A16641
it says input 88000btu/hr
output 71000 btu/hr

#2
Model 310AAV042090ACJA
S/N 1806A16672
it says input 88000btu/hr
output 71000 btu/hr
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-07, 03:33 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SouthEast
Posts: 178
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
looks like both are 3 1/2 ton furnaces so you should be OK to use up to a 3 1/2 ton AC on each one, dependent upon the results of your manual J calculations.
 
  #10  
Old 06-23-07, 03:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good to know since the hvac company would have put in a 4ton unit if i wanted the higher seer because bryant doesnt make 1/2 ton sizes in the 15 seer. So now i just need to have some people come out to run the calcs and decide on a mfg of AC...I had trane in our old house...it was ok, nothing great...just looking for something that will be reliable and will be quiet. Any input on those two factors would be appreciated
THanks
 
  #11  
Old 06-25-07, 01:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How much can one expect to save by having an AC installed in fall or winter compared to the begining or middle of summer??
Thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: