Wiring a step down transformer 120v to 24v


  #1  
Old 12-05-07, 12:26 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a step down transformer 120v to 24v

I have an A/C unit in my Mexico Condo that I tried to convert from a mechanical type coil temperature mechanism to a digital type. Spent hours trying to get it to work and finally realized that the voltage at the thermostat is 120v.

It seems easiest, from what I can see ,is to splice in a step down transformer to reduce the voltage to 24V, that the digital one requires.

Being cautious, as it appears way too simple, is there anything that I'm overlooking.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-05-07, 05:39 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
is this a window unit?

You could do it, but you are going to need a transformer, and relay.

You have a place to put this relay?

Are you able to pull new wire?
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-07, 05:49 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
This A/C unit is a split York system. I can't pull any addtional wire from the air handler from where the thermostat leads are wired from. From the outside compressor to the air handler, there is an extra 120v wire not being used.

Thank you
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-07, 06:01 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honeywell does make line voltage t-stat. Not sure if you can find them down there or not.. But come to think of it, they are for heat only.

I'll see if I can find something tonight.
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-07, 03:19 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Jay,

Did you find out anything more per your 12/06 post to my topic?

Thank you,
Rich
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-07, 04:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Rich,

sorry for not getting back to you. No, I didn't find anything that was line voltage t-stat for A/C, just low voltage.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: