i need help.....


  #1  
Old 05-18-08, 07:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy i need help.....

hi everyone..well i have a problem..i live in a duplex...i rent...and i hate to bother my landlord with little things....hes an old grumpy guy...well this house is very old and i have this old school thermostat...where u have to turn the knob..its ROBERTSHAW..can i change it to a digital one? any brand? and if this helps the furnace..i think thats what its called is DAY&NIGHT..PLEASE HELP
 
  #2  
Old 05-18-08, 08:23 PM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FocusPRO 6000
by Honeywell

M/N: TH6110D1005

http://customer.honeywell.com/Honeyw...ACHEHINT=Guest

Check the first one of the installation guides.

And just to make sure I give you the correct advice, please find out the full M/N of that old thermostat you currently have in your place and post it.
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-08, 08:36 PM
cberry135's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Welcome

Welcome to the forums. Not sure what a DAY AND NIGHT furnace is... however, replacing a thermostat is not a difficult task.

I would recommend get permission from your landlord before making any changes, unless there is a specific provision in your lease that allows you to make alterations.

I recommend a programmable thermostat that you can set to adjust the temperature when you are gone or asleep.

Make sure the power to the thermostat is turned off, disconnect the old thermostat and label the wires to indicate their screw terminal connections. Remove the thermostat, BE CAREFUL with the wires. you do not want to let then fall inside the wall.

Thread the wires through the base of the new thermostat and mount the base to the wall. Connect the wires to the screw terminal on the new thermostat using the manufacturer's connection chart as a guide and then push it on to the base. Restore power to the system and you have a new thermostat.

You will need to take care when disposing of the old thermostat as it probably contains mercury.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-08, 12:11 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by pflor View Post
FocusPRO 6000
by Honeywell

M/N: TH6110D1005

http://customer.honeywell.com/Honeyw...ACHEHINT=Guest

Check the first one of the installation guides.

And just to make sure I give you the correct advice, please find out the full M/N of that old thermostat you currently have in your place and post it.


i took the cover off and the only thing it has in the front are #s and the word ROBERTSHAW....in the back it shows D32006 CLASS II
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-08, 04:36 AM
pflor's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 1,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The number given did not help me.

Besides removing the cover, see if you could unscrew the thermostat itself...what will be left on the wall will be a plate called the subbase, on which there are a colored few wires, the ends of which are conected to screw terminals that have letters as labels. Let me know what those letters are (example: R, W, Y, G, etc.)

DON'T unscrew the wires...just look at them and take note of the labels.

After this, screw the thermostat back to its original position.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: