fan motor wiring


  #1  
Old 06-07-08, 11:01 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
fan motor wiring

I am in the process of replacing my fan motor on my condensor. i took the old fan to grainger and they gave my a replacement.

when I brought it home. The old fan had 4 wires and the new one has 5 wires. Can some help with the new wiring?

below are the wiring diagram for the both motors

old motor

red/whit------cap
brown--------line
blk-----------

new motor

brown/wht----cap
brown--------cap
purple--common----L1
black--------------L2
green----------ground

(optional 3 wire connection)

brown/white-----insulate
brown-----------cap
purple--------L1

I tried the optional 3 wire connection, below are my setup. When I tried this one, the fan didnt work

old-------------new

red/white------brown
brown---------purple
blk------------brown/white
 

Last edited by koolkat97; 06-07-08 at 01:36 PM.
  #2  
Old 06-07-08, 02:13 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by koolkat97
I am in the process of replacing my fan motor on my condensor. i took the old fan to grainger and they gave my a replacement.

when I brought it home. The old fan had 4 wires and the new one has 5 wires. Can some help with the new wiring?

below are the wiring diagram for the both motors

old motor

red/whit------cap
brown--------line
blk-----------

new motor

brown/wht----cap
brown--------cap
purple--common----L1
black--------------L2
green----------ground

(optional 3 wire connection)

brown/white-----insulate
brown-----------cap
purple--------L1

I tried the optional 3 wire connection, below are my setup. When I tried this one, the fan didnt work

old-------------new

red/white------brown
brown---------purple
blk------------brown/white
BTW I was going to use the old capacitor it has 3 poles going to it. Is this possible or do I need to get another capacitor also?
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-08, 03:02 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 44
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
5 wire fan

It looks like the only wire added with the 5 wire fan to the 4 wire one you are replacing is the ground. That would let you wire it the same as the old fan and just attach the green (ground wire) to a new screw terminal someplace in the box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: