Rheem A/C fan working on/off. But Compressor works well

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-08, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rheem A/C fan working on/off. But Compressor works well

I have a Rheem A/C unit. Recently, the blow fan sometimes stop working while the compressor is still on. So the unit gets pretty hot. If I turn off the A/C and restart it again several hours later, both fan and compressor works fine. Then after 30 min or so, the fan stops but the compressor keep running and the room is cool. What could be the problem? fan itself or some kind of switch/thermostat .... I want to know your expert opinion before call the repairman. Maybe I can fix it.

Thank you so much! Enjoy your day

Steven
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-08, 10:16 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,107
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When you say "blow fan", you mean the one outside with the compressor?

More than likely the motor for the fan needs replacement. This needs to be fixed ASAP as it can damage the compressor, then you'll be looking at much more cost.

It could also be a couple of other things, but most likely as it runs it heats up and stops due to bad/worn bearings.
Don't run the unit without the fan running!

Wait...is this a window unit? Likely still the same issue...but wait for the Pros answer.
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-08, 10:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's an outside unit, not a window unit

Where I can buy the fan? I guess it has to be from a specialied place?
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-08, 01:04 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Fan motor

It might not be the motor at all. It could be as simple as a weak capacitor. Even if you replace the capacitor & the problem continues, you probably will not have spent over $20. An electric motor shop could check the cap for you but they may or may not get an accurate reading due to the time elapsed between removal & testing.

Motors & capacitors are readily available online. If you opt to replace the motor, be sure to get a matching capacitor & replace it at the same time.
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-08, 01:50 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,107
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ahh...... Run cap, right Grady? I always forget about that possibility.

No expert....just hoping to help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: