Install New A/C at Home


  #1  
Old 07-25-08, 04:11 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Install New A/C at Home

Upon a New Install using existing lines, after brazing the refrig lines to evaporator and the condenser how do you pull a vaccume on the lines. And is the nitrigen charge nessesary? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-25-08, 04:41 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Read the stickys on this subject. You will probably get no replies, as if you have to ask, you shouldn't be doing the work.
A Pro would know the right way, and a non-certified person can't be doing this work.

No sort of expert on this, but have spent a lot of time looking at the threads.
 
  #3  
Old 07-25-08, 05:13 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Need to use Nitrogen wile brazing or you will get ash in the lines. If you do not say good by filter drier or metering device.
 
  #4  
Old 07-26-08, 08:17 AM
The Real Deal's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 146
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No Way No How...

Should you be doing this. 1 piece of advice is good advice in this case!

* I will say that not pulling a qualified proper vaccume (which you dont have the tools, ability, or experience as to the degree to perform = not effective) will severily shorten the life (By burnout)of your new install, not to mention cut the capacity of the unit by 25% to 50% or more.

Get a qualified technician/company asap, or you will be posting the question in a few short months - "Why doesnt my compressor start?"!
 
  #5  
Old 07-26-08, 08:33 AM
Jarredsdad's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Troy, VA
Posts: 1,392
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Just curious

Why do you want/need to know?
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-08, 03:13 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Install New A/C at Home

Thanks guys. Guess I better leave this to a qualified tech since these units are expensive.
 
  #7  
Old 07-31-08, 06:55 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 16,984
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by nalanala
Thanks guys. Guess I better leave this to a qualified tech since these units are expensive.
The best move you've done.. Too many tools is needed that a normal home owner don't have.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: