Outside Unit Problems - Fan runs, compressor doesn't

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-04-08, 06:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Outside Unit Problems - Fan runs, compressor doesn't

Hi,

I bought my home a year ago. The sellers said the outdoor unit was about 3 years old. It's a goodman CKL-36 IL.

It's been working great for the year since I bought the house and has cooled the house in the Memphis heat perfectly until today.

The inside blower (attic unit) is working, blowing room-temp air through. Is a brand new filter upstairs.

When I realized it wasn't cooling I found the outside unit was not running at all. I checked all the breakers and they're fine. The fan hangs upside down in the unit and the top of the unit (where the fan motor mounts to the lid) is very hot to the touch.

I read the forums and had my friend turn on the thermostat while I stood outside. I heard it go "bzzzz" for about 2 seconds but then silence. The fan didn't start at all.

I used a stick to start the fan and it's runs well. After about 2 minutes the unit went "bzzz" again (trying to start compressor?) but alas, it's not making the compressor noise I'm accustomed to. After about 5 minutes even the fan stopped running. The Goodman is kaput

I'm not an electrician but I can turn a screwdriver, wrench, splice a wire, etc. Does anyone have experience with this who might be able to help?

Even if I'm unable to fix it I'll hopefully at least have a *general* idea what's wrong and how much to expect repairs would cost (??) so when I call a repairman I'll know I'm not being shafted....

Thanks for any help or advice!
-t
 

Last edited by traynor; 08-04-08 at 06:13 PM. Reason: outside fan stopped blowing after 5 minutes
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-05-08, 06:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: south carolina usa
Posts: 180
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turn the power to the outside unit off.
Remove the control cover from the unit.
Look for the capacitor, which will probably be round or oblong and have three leads. If you see any apparent swelling or leakage of the capacitor, replace it.
Even if there is no obvious damage, it is probably bad.
For $15 bucks its worth a try.
CAUTION these babies can store a charge which will give you a good shock, so short the three leads together before touching them.
Take the old one with you so that the correct replacement can be made.
Be sure that you notice which lead came from which terminal and replace the correctly on the new cap. LOL
Let me know, even if I am wrong. Tom
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-08, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So far, so good...

Hey Gardner thanks for the reply.

I have the swollen GE capacitor in hand and am headed to the parts store for a replacement.

I'll post the final result here, but otherwise I'd say judging from the bulge on the thing this was the problem and I'll be running the AC again today.

stay tuned...
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-08, 10:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boom! D-i-y!!!

It worked! HOOOOORAAAAHHHHH!

Do it yourself indeed. All hail SELF!!!

Thank you thank you thank you!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-08, 12:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: south carolina usa
Posts: 180
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GREAT, glad I could help. Need lot'sa help myself at times.
Lot of nice and experienced guys on this forum willing to help others. Tom
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: