New Trane A/C leaking freon - help


  #1  
Old 08-22-08, 08:01 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy New Trane A/C leaking freon - help

We bought our home last year and it came without central air but was central air ready(?). We used a Home Depot contractor and had a high efficiency Trane A/C unit installed. I think it's a 14 something... it's huge and in our back yard. It worked for a while and then stopped cooling.

We called the company that installed it and they came out (in May) and said all the freon leaked out and that they refilled it. They said they couldn't find the leak and maybe it was in our wall.

About two months later (July) they came out and checked it and said that it wasn't leaking.

We just tried using it and it doesn't work again. It's been two months since they checked it... or almost two months. Nothing, nada.

Is there anyway for them to figure out that the leak in the wall for sure?

If it is in the wall, what are our options?

We cannot tear up the wall from the inside. It would run near our kitchen and we have expensive tile and granite on the walls and it would cost a fortune. If the leak were near the upstairs it might be accessible in a bedroom but only if it's upstairs.

Please help me out here and let me know what we can/should do....
 
  #2  
Old 08-22-08, 10:43 PM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 454
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A competent technician, using tools such as dye and an eletronic detector, etc., should be able to use the process of elimination to verify the leak is not in the evaporator or condensor, or in an accessible part of the linset. Look for oily residue on your lines, where you can check, that could help.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-08, 08:51 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,411
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
If the leak is somewhere in the wall, then most of the time, they will install a new pipe along outside of your house (covered nicely of course) go all the way up into your attic where your air handler is located (assume your air handler is in the attic). But before you do that, check the units on both ends to make sure. Here I have one question, you said from May to July was OK, Now only about one month later, it does not work anymore. Have you check the freon level again? it may not be a leak problem this time. So, call them back and ask them to check it again. (here is a simple way you can check yourself, have your AC run for more than 5 minutes, while it is running, go outside to see if your unit is running(both the fan and the compressor), if it does, put your hand on the big pipe which usually insulated by black foam, you can find a spot near the unit that is not insulated, the pipe should feel cold and may be wet, and also, the fan should blow warm air (very warm compare to outside air). If the pipe is not cold, the fan air is not warm, you may have a leak.
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-08, 09:33 AM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 454
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah there is a bit of a discrepancy there. A leak doesn't disappear, maybe there was some other issue then if it indeed has adequate refrigerant now.
 
  #5  
Old 08-23-08, 12:58 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Like said they should be able to find the leak! Also 14 seer is not high efficiency its just won small step above builder grade.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: