continuosly blowing capacitors

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-31-08, 10:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question continuosly blowing capacitors

My compressor fan quit blowing and I diagnosed the problem to be a bad capacitor. I replaced the capacitor and the fan started working again. The following day it went out and I replaced the capacitor again and it would not start. So I had the motor tested and it was going out. I replaced the fan motor and it worked fine for three days then this morning the fan quit blowing again. I tested the capacitor and it was bad again. So my diagnosis is that something is causing the capacitors to blow, in turn it burned up the motor. I am at a dead end not able to find out what would blow capacitors with a new motor. The motor has all the same specs and the capacitor is the right requirements. I'm assuming something electrical is putting to much voltage on the capacitor causing it to overheat and burn up. I'm burning up and desperate for help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-31-08, 11:20 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You never said if when you replaced the motor, if you also replaced the capacitor with a new one at that very time. If not, the bad motor may have not only damaged the first bad capacitor, but the 2nd new capacitor as well. So then it went out yet again, even though you put in a new motor, because it had already seen some damage from before you replaced the motor. Maybe.

Are all the wires between motor and capacitor hooked up correctly?

Or the new motor and the capacitor you put in the last time are not compatable.

Or you got a bad capacitor.

This all presumes your voltage is correct. Have you tested the voltage?

Was the motor an exact replacement to OEM. And were you certain of this?

How much monitoring did you do at the outside unit to rule out let's say that the fan was not clicking on and off a lot?

Does your unit have any type of pressure switch or outdoor temp. fan switch that cycles the fan? I'm bringing that up - but I know of a commercial unit that I noticed was cycling on and off every minute since LAST summer (this year too) and no parts have been needed to fix anything in that one yet.

When you replace the capacitor yet again, you will need to know for sure you are putting in the right one. And when you do, and run the A/C, if I were you, I'd stand out there and make sure it cycles the way it should, only coming on, and going off, according to what the thermostat says it should be doing.
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-08, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the feedback. I really feel ignorant but this new motor had a quick discconnect from the motor to the unit on the side. it apparantly had come loose. so to prevent this from happening again i taped it together and wire tied it up. its running like a charm now.
 
  #4  
Old 08-31-08, 01:15 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, at least thanks for admitting that and telling us.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: