Help installing Janitrol HPT 18-60 Thermostat


  #1  
Old 09-06-08, 04:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Help installing Janitrol HPT 18-60 Thermostat

I was going to replace my Janitrol HPT 18-60 thermostat with a programmable thermostat but found out the programmable one will not work for it. So I put the Janitrol HPT 18-60 back on and it not doesn't seem to work at all. Any suggestions on what to check? I made sure the wires were going to the correct spots and also checked my breaker.
 
  #2  
Old 09-06-08, 05:17 PM
Former Member's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: US
Posts: 786
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
blown low voltage fuse most likely

The most common thing that happens is that the person installing the new t-stat does not turn the power off and the wires are inadvertently shorted and the fuse blows. Check your low voltage control wiring fuse first and report back.
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-08, 05:57 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
My husband doesn't want to ask, but he can not find the low voltage fuse box is. Do you have any suggestions as to where to look? We don't have a basement. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 09-06-08, 08:07 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Found fuse

Thanks for the info on the fuse. I found the fuse and replaced it. The a/c works now!
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-08, 07:11 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by skh355 View Post
I was going to replace my Janitrol HPT 18-60 thermostat with a programmable thermostat but found out the programmable one will not work for it.
Why do you say it won't work for it?
 
  #6  
Old 09-07-08, 03:12 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Does the HPT stand for heat pump thermostat?,and maybe all thermostats don't work for heat pumps unless they have say some dip switch inside for them?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: