Need some help central air stopped woring


  #1  
Old 12-26-08, 08:52 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: fl
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need some help central air stopped woring

I had a goodman central unit installed about 3 months ago. I can not get a hold of the guy that installed it. Its stopped working. The thermostat clicks but neither blower or commperssor does anything. Checked all of the breakers.

What could i check next? Any help would be great!

Thanks
Scott
 
  #2  
Old 12-27-08, 07:39 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,423
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Check inside fan first, turn the thermo to fan only to see if your inside fan working. then check to see if you have power to the outside unit.
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-08, 01:12 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: fl
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Inside fan does not come on. And have 240 at the outside unit. Any ideas?

Thanks
Scott
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-08, 10:45 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,423
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Needs to find out why inside fan does not work first. Do you have power to the inside fan ?? Inside fan is controlled by a electronic board and this fan should not affect the outside unit. If you turn the heat on, does the inside fan work ? When you have 240 to the outside compressor, the compressor should be on (unless the compressor is bad, but, not a 3 months old unit). Well, check inside fan first and go from there.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-08, 05:48 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: fl
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Checked inside fan for power and that is good. Turned heat on and same thing nothing. No fan no compressor.
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-08, 08:01 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: fl
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
could it be the thermostat?
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-08, 10:14 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,423
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
If you have power to the fan and the fan is still not working. It is a bad fan.
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-08, 07:40 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,423
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
You did check the power at the inside fan terminal, did you ? That fan is also controlled by the control board. If you have power at the fan terminal (not at the thermostat) that fan should work unless it is a bad fan. If you have power at the thermo, but not at the fan terminal, it may be the control board problem.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-08, 11:26 AM
Beachboy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast Kansas
Posts: 704
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Bad control transformer? Do you have the 16 volts on the control circuit? Without that, neither the AC or heat will work.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-08, 09:12 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 438
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No Heat

You need to jumper the wires at the stat, jumper between the R terminal and the G terminal if the fan runs your stat is bad. If nothing happens you need to find out what happened to your control voltage. There may be a fuse in the control board or inline on the red wire. If no fuse you may have a bad transformer.
 
  #11  
Old 01-01-09, 11:37 AM
Former Member's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: US
Posts: 734
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Some units have a safety switch that is part of the furnace access panel, first make sure your 4 year old did not get curious as to what was behind the little door and not put it back on correctly then if that checks out since you are already there remove the door and replace the inline 5 amp fuse and you should be good to go. Now if the fuse immediatley blows you will need to find the new puppy and spank its butt and then fix the wires at the outside unit where the new puppy chewed them in two. Now replace the fuse again and you should be good to go.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: