Replacing stolen condensers

Old 01-08-09, 10:20 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing stolen condensers

Hi. I'm not experienced with HVAC but I am a pretty handy person. I'm purchasing a house which had the condensers ripped apart for the copper. Would I be able to buy just the condensers, hook up the lines and wiring, and charge the system? Or is it more complicated than that? The house is just under 3000 sq ft, two story. The heater unit in the attic is made by Trane so I would think the whole system is a Trane?? Would I need to replace with Trane specific condensers? Lastly, what's a ballpark rough estimate of how much this would cost, both if I do it myself and if I contracted someone?

TIA

Old 01-09-09, 06:57 AM
M
Originally Posted by buckxwild
Hi. I'm not experienced with HVAC but I am a pretty handy person. I'm purchasing a house which had the condensers ripped apart for the copper. Would I be able to buy just the condensers, hook up the lines and wiring, and charge the system? Or is it more complicated than that? The house is just under 3000 sq ft, two story. The heater unit in the attic is made by Trane so I would think the whole system is a Trane?? Would I need to replace with Trane specific condensers? Lastly, what's a ballpark rough estimate of how much this would cost, both if I do it myself and if I contracted someone?

TIA
1st off I would have to say it is way more complicated than just hooking up lines, elec. and a charge. You would have to spend around $1500.00 or more just in tools to do the job correctly. Not to mention the technical background to properly charge the system.

What I would recommend is this; Contact the selling agent or owner and have them file an insurance claim, if this is not an option for the seller, start getting quotes for a replacement, and have the seller deduct this amount from the purchase price or give you that amount back at closing.