Power Consumption of Chiller

Old 04-15-09, 08:03 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Power Consumption of Chiller

Dear all,

I am a student. I am dealing with a academic research about power consumption estimation of a industrial used chiller, specially for HVAC of a building. I have done some mathematics model to estimate the power consumption based on some know factors (ex: chiller supply,return temperature, condenser flow rate etc). I am wondering what i can do after i can predict the power consumption in a particular situation. How to optimize the power usage of the chiller. Can you guys give me some advice. Thank You.

Old 04-16-09, 06:26 PM
optimize the power usage of the chiller?

While this is a Homeowner geared site, I'll attempt to give you an answer because I understand what you are asking.

Depending on the size of the chiller you will have many steps of loading and unloading. Power consumption will be dependent on the % of load on the chiller.

Amps times Volts = Watts.

If your set point is 45 degrees and the water temp is 60 the chiller should be fully loaded. Max watts or power consumption. But as the water temp drops the chiller will unload in steps and therefore reduce power consumption.

The manufacturer should have this data available, watts per stage of load. Or you could rune the chiller manual in different stages and take your own readings.

I would plan for the max consumption and use the less load consumption as a "gimme".

Don't forget setback control, which should be in the electronics, a chiller is normally designed for a 10 degree delta T. If sized correctly the chiller will have no problem handling the load.

Old 04-17-09, 07:10 AM
A
Originally Posted by Jarredsdad
While this is a Homeowner geared site, I'll attempt to give you an answer because I understand what you are asking.