Window air conditioning and dorms...

Old 05-06-09, 06:02 PM
Question Window air conditioning and dorms...

Hey all,
new to the forum. I'm a student at CSULB living in the dorms (Been there for a while). I've been looking for some air conditioning for the dorms but I don't want to spend $400+ on a portable air conditioner. I went on craigslist to see some window units, they're incredibly cheap, I'd say about $20-$40 and that I can afford.

Well here's the thing. My dorm is made up of a solid brick wall and one large window. I can't put the air conditioner through the window and let 80% hang outside because there's a metal screen that cannot be removed or modified at all (housing rule).

So I was thinking, I have a good engineering and science background, maybe I could just rig something up...

what I was thinking is placing the back of the air conditioner to the window screen and let it rest on some sort of small table or stand of equal length to the wall with a catch bucket or something like that on the bottom for water runoff.

I wouldn't mind spending the extra cash for a tiny stand and bucket, but a $200 - $400 portable air conditioner just doesn't do the job and they're really not that portable. I used to have one. Had to lug the entire thing around just to drain it =(

If you guys want a diagram of it, just tell me, I can make one in a paint program...

So what do you guys think, would this be a good idea or bad? If its a bad idea, are there any suggestions to make it better? or links of some kind. Any sort of direction or inspiration to make this setup work would be nice.

However if it absolutely CANNOT work, please just say so and why.

Remember, I have an engineering background so I can make and modify just about anything as long as its not the wall directly or window/screen.

Thank you so much guys! I really need the help!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-09, 06:47 PM
Upvotes Received: 16