Trane Outside A/C Unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-09, 07:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Trane Outside A/C Unit

I started up the A/C this spring and the unit was making an awful vibration/whining noise that could be heard inside the home all night long and when the unit was working. The unit is 7 years old and is now not working.

What would give a noise that could be heard inside the house? Can it be the internal fan or the compressor? The unit isn't making any noise or working anymore. I checked the breakers and all are good.

Would the unit make any noise if the internal fan wasn't working? That's the only piece I can think of that would make a loud enough noise. Is it possible that the compressor could have made that loud of noise?

Any help would be great. Any type of tests I could run to identify the problem. This is a residential style unit for a 3400 SF house.

Thx,Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-19-09, 08:32 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 795
It could have been either the fan or comp, you should have shut it down when you heard the noise.

That being said, the first thing you need to do is get a meter and verify you have power at the incoming line voltage for the cond unit. Need to check for 240v at the contactor
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-09, 09:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by dun11 View Post
It could have been either the fan or comp, you should have shut it down when you heard the noise.

That being said, the first thing you need to do is get a meter and verify you have power at the incoming line voltage for the cond unit. Need to check for 240v at the contactor
ok, I'll check for voltage tonight. Once I check that, what next? I know the fan isn't spinning. Could that be related to the compressor if it went out?
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-09, 09:39 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 795
If you have power at the contactor, take a little stick or something like that and push in center of contactor to "bump" it. Trying to determine if anything will run at all.
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-09, 09:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by dun11 View Post
If you have power at the contactor, take a little stick or something like that and push in center of contactor to "bump" it. Trying to determine if anything will run at all.
Great thanks for the advice.
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-09, 04:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by dun11 View Post
If you have power at the contactor, take a little stick or something like that and push in center of contactor to "bump" it. Trying to determine if anything will run at all.
I checked for 220v and I had it. I than pushed in the contactor and a couple sparks came from it and it stayed down (maybe it had some erosion)House seems to be cooling now. Since that was stuck up does that neccessitate a future problem? It isn't loud anymore either.

Edit I just shut off the unit and the contactor won't stay down. Any ideas?
 

Last edited by 1badrz28; 05-19-09 at 04:49 PM.
  #7  
Old 05-19-09, 04:58 PM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 795
You now want to check the voltage reading at the coil of the contactor, that would be the terminals below where the low voltage connections are, your looking for 24v

If you have a good 24v at contactor coil with a call for cooling I would replace contactor as it could be pitted etc and not making a good circuit.

More important, make sure the unit cycles, ie: house reaches desired set point and the cycles on its own to maintain tempBeer 4U2
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes