Central Air Not Working!

Old 05-28-09, 02:34 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Central Air Not Working!

6 year old Lennox HS29 cooling unit. Unit is getting power to the outside, so I replaced the capacitor. That didn't do it, any suggestins? It makes no noise outside whatsoever. Is there another starting capacitor on this or am I looking at a motor? I'm not good with a multimeter but I can try...suggestions?

Old 05-28-09, 03:51 PM
D
Look at the contactor [the big relay] do you 240 volts going to it fom the disconnect switch? When you turn the thermostat on to make the cooling run, does the contactor pull in and close its contacts? If yes, do you have 240 volts leaving the contactor going to the circuits in the unit? If no, do you have 24 volts at the magnetic coil on the contactor?

Old 05-28-09, 04:31 PM
R
Thanks for answering my post! No, the relay does not open or close when the unit is powered on. Are you suggesting it could be the relay? I also have a Honeywell programable thermostat that for some reason I have never felt worked correctly. Since the unit is getting power (at least to a point) could the thermostat be an issue. Thanks again.

Old 05-28-09, 05:10 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How do you know you are getting power to the outside unit if you do not hear anything and you are not good with a voltmeter? Or do you have a voltmeter and at least made a test to see you had 240 volts out there?

You have to have both 24 volts ac and 240 volts ac out there. The 24 volts gets sent out there by the thermostat in the cooling mode, which then triggers the 240 volt contactor to let the 240 volts through.

Old 05-28-09, 06:14 PM
R