New house, outside unit not working, but inside is and air is blowing


  #1  
Old 06-19-09, 07:01 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New house, outside unit not working, but inside is and air is blowing

Bought a house in the winter...and turned the AC on for the first time today.

The air is blowing through the vents...and everything inside seems to be working fine.

However, the actual outside unit is not working...including the fan.

What could be the problem if everything inside is working? I pulled the metal piece (fuse?) in and out 3-4 times, but still nothing.

What would be wrong? Keep in mind this AC unit probably hasn't been on in 9 months. Is it possible that something just needs to be turned on?
 
  #2  
Old 06-19-09, 10:40 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
If it is new it will still be under warranty. Call the builder.
 
  #3  
Old 06-20-09, 05:09 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 695
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
set the stat to cool and go outside to the condenser..shut the disconnect OFF for the condenser and check for a buzzing sound from the control area.what we are looking for is the 24Vs out to the condenser from the stat to the contactor that runs the compressor and the condenser fan.if there is no buzzing or the contactor isn't pulled in your not getting the 24Vs out from the house or you have it and the coil on the contactor is shot/no freon in the system and safty is open...can you read voltages there if so check the 2 on the contactor each side thinest ones(stat wire) should have 24Vs.how does the contact points look on that contactor clean/burnt?to check to see if you have freon in the systen remove the cap on the black insulated line out on the condenser and push it in like on a tire air valve should get a quick burst of pressure if the freon is there.
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-09, 08:33 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by sminker
set the stat to cool and go outside to the condenser..shut the disconnect OFF for the condenser and check for a buzzing sound from the control area.what we are looking for is the 24Vs out to the condenser from the stat to the contactor that runs the compressor and the condenser fan.if there is no buzzing or the contactor isn't pulled in your not getting the 24Vs out from the house or you have it and the coil on the contactor is shot/no freon in the system and safty is open...can you read voltages there if so check the 2 on the contactor each side thinest ones(stat wire) should have 24Vs.how does the contact points look on that contactor clean/burnt?to check to see if you have freon in the systen remove the cap on the black insulated line out on the condenser and push it in like on a tire air valve should get a quick burst of pressure if the freon is there.
Honestly I don't understand most of what you are saying.

If the outside unit is not working...is there any possibility it's frion? I just don't see why the fan wouldn't work.

Or is it possible it just needs the fuse you pull out?
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-09, 10:48 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,851
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's possible the installers left the unit disabled because they didn't want to charge in the freon duirng cold weather. Call the builder or installing company. They'll be looking for any excuse to invalidate your warranty, so don't futz with it. Did the unit work when you moved in?
 
  #6  
Old 06-22-09, 11:35 AM
dun11's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Local
Posts: 753
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Did you check the breaker at the main panel for the outdoor unit ?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: