Buy New A/c or fix old one.


  #1  
Old 07-20-09, 05:51 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Buy New A/c or fix old one.

This is more of a what should I do question. Whole House A/c is about 20 years old and does not cool the house enough. Another problem is that we made an addition to the house which is about a 13 by 13 ft room. I tied into the lines that ran into the other bedrooms and ran one line from one room to the restroom. Cut another line from another room and ran it to the 13 by 13 ft room. The restroom does seem to get cool but the other room not at all. Tomorrow I have two a/c companies coming out for an estimate to replace the a/c unit. I don't know what to do. Should the whole unit be replaced or maybe fixed. Just instead install a room a/c for the 13 by 13 room? I have to use my credit card for all this (Since I don't have the money to pay cash) Should I maybe seal the lines where I tied into and install the room a/c. The temperature here in California has been above 100. Any help would be so appreciated. Thank you so much.
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-09, 05:59 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Frankly, if you're going to have to use plastic cash, the interest will kill you. The folks you have coming will prefer to sell you a new system and they may have some finacing options. Did the existing system cool the house well enough before the modifications? This would be a good place to start:

HVAC Software, HVAC-Calc for Heat Loss, Heat Load Calculations
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-09, 06:02 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by daddyjohn View Post
Frankly, if you're going to have to use plastic cash, the interest will kill you. The folks you have coming will prefer to sell you a new system and they may have some finacing options. Did the existing system cool the house well enough before the modifications? This would be a good place to start:

HVAC Software, HVAC-Calc for Heat Loss, Heat Load Calculations
Actually it worked well for the last two years with the modifications. Just that the 13 by 13 room would not cool down at all.
 
  #4  
Old 07-20-09, 06:07 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok so the cooling preformance has fallen off? Might be best [or cheaper] to have it checked first and put a window shaker in the addition.
 
  #5  
Old 07-20-09, 06:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a 20 year old unit. Would you call someone out to check the system? Is it worth it to fix it? The A/c works, just does not cool as much as it did last year, before it would get really cold. If I put in a room a/c and and fix the existing a/c it should easily be less than one thousand, right?
Compared to the three thousand plus that I would spend on a new a/c, right?
 
  #6  
Old 07-20-09, 06:35 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
my friend if you can get a new a/c for 3k, you are a lucky person. Repairs and whether it's worth it will depend on what is wrong. If your current budget situation is tight [like who's isn't?] it might be ebtter to have your current equipment looked at. For the heck of it, go to the outdoor unit and feel the the smaller of the 2 tubes [the uninsulated one]. Hot? Warrm? Cool [as in about the same temp as outdoors]?
 
  #7  
Old 07-20-09, 07:31 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are three thin tubes, one has a screw that seems you can screw into. A/c is running and is throwing very little cool air almost nothing. All tubes are the same temp. not even one is cooler than the other.
It has two fuses in a box nearby, can one of those be the problem?
 

Last edited by blanquitoman; 07-20-09 at 10:06 PM.
  #8  
Old 07-20-09, 11:08 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm talking about the freon lines at the outdoor section. There should be one that is insulated and a smaller diameter one that is not insulated. Try feeling both pipes. If the unit is running, the fuses are ok.
 
  #9  
Old 07-21-09, 07:33 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unit is running and the one that has insulation is the same temp. as the other one. Does that mean that it has to be recharged?
Any guess why it is not cooling down the house?
 
  #10  
Old 07-21-09, 09:00 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well just called A/c tech and canceled the other companies for the new a/c estimates. From all that I have read it seams the system needs to be recharged and find the leak. Guess we will see this afternoon. So far a $59 service fee.
 
  #11  
Old 07-21-09, 12:20 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The $59 will be to just look at it. It sounds like a leak or maybe inefficient compressor.
 
  #12  
Old 07-21-09, 04:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I a new 2 ton A/C compressor unit looks like $1700 the one that was in the house is really old. When he connected the lines to see about the pressure it was negative, I had a major leak. Furnace seemed to be really clean just needed some maintenance so it works in the best shape.
Thank you for all the help
 

Last edited by blanquitoman; 07-21-09 at 05:23 PM.
  #13  
Old 07-22-09, 03:38 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so where is the leak?


hhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
 
  #14  
Old 07-22-09, 08:27 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He said that for sure it was in the old compressor and he was so sure that if he replaced it and it really was the evaporation he wrote on the contract that if it does not work. He would replace everything until it worked. I had him write down everything that he said. I just hope that it all works. To find the leak he said it would be $500 and at would just turn out to be a waste of money.I hope I made the right decision.
 
  #15  
Old 07-23-09, 06:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Everything is set up and working okay. The reason I say okay is because I am not sure if it works to the best of it's ability.The temp. drops about 4 degrees every 1/2 hour is that about right?
It started at 92 and a half hour later it was at 88. Should I call the company back to give it a check? Or wait a while. The time of day is around a half an hour ago, Sun is going down
 
  #16  
Old 07-23-09, 07:32 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
that is very fast maybe to fast what was the temp outside?
 
  #17  
Old 07-23-09, 09:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took a picture of the temp at 6:30pm and it was 88 degrees I went to the store and came back at 8:30pm and the temp was 84 degrees. It is now 9:09pm and the temp is 83 degrees.I have now had more time to compare the temps. Don't get me wrong the home is cool but does it not seem like a long time for the temp. to go down. The new thermostat is at this moment set to 70 degrees. Am I just asking for too much? The old unit would get really cold and this one only gets about half as cold.
 
  #18  
Old 07-23-09, 09:23 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,380
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Im confused first its not working then it is working. is this the same unit or did you have a new unit installed or did you have the tech replace the compressor etc.
 
  #19  
Old 07-24-09, 12:13 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it isn't broke, don't fix it.


It sounds like the condensing unit was replaced. You have to realize that the structure is full of heat and it needs to cool down before you'll get better stabilization. Would you mind sharing what it cost?
 
  #20  
Old 07-24-09, 04:40 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
4 degrees in 2.5 hours is great at 88.
 
  #21  
Old 07-24-09, 07:39 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by daddyjohn View Post
If it isn't broke, don't fix it.


It sounds like the condensing unit was replaced. You have to realize that the structure is full of heat and it needs to cool down before you'll get better stabilization. Would you mind sharing what it cost?
Yes it was replaced. It cost $1700. It is a Payne System, Energy guide says Model:PA13NR024000AHAA.The Booklet Says PA13
How long does it take for stabilization?
Is this a one time thing, just because it is new?
 
  #22  
Old 07-24-09, 07:47 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by airman.1994 View Post
4 degrees in 2.5 hours is great at 88.
It was 88 inside home not outside. Sorry I did not make that clear.
 
  #23  
Old 07-24-09, 03:21 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The structural components of the house need to cool back down, that's what I meant. A day should be enough unless your weather is extreme now. 2 years ago my sisters a/c broke down on the hottest days of August. I had to wait a few days for the parts. She has a old wooden construction house, unfinished basement, some insulation and good storm windows. After I got it running, the unit ran 23 hours straight before it cycled off.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: